Built in 1850, Tijuca Forest's charming pink chapel is sadly today only full of replicas of the original artefacts that were once stolen, then recovered, and now find themselves better looked after in the Museu Nacional de Belas Artes. A triptych by Brazil's renowned Cândido Portinari does, however, remain. Its colour was designed to reflect the affluence of the family who had it built and today helps make it popular as a rather unique wedding venue 460m high up over Rio, as well as a charming curio in the middle of the forest.
Estrada da Cascatinha, Arpoador
27 Mar 2013.
Words by Time Out Rio de Janeiro editors
If this map or any venue details are incorrect, please contact us